INDIEchouette


COME TO THE LEWISBURG ARTS FESTIVAL, PLEASE

So.  I’m completely grounded.

This is exceptionally rare for me.  Even when I am semi-grounded, I normally have some freedom to roam about the neighbourhood, but this time, I am confined to home, which basically means that I need to take up Colonial girl hobbies.

One of my semi-Colonial hobbies is writing pieces for my senior project, that zine I mentioned a while ago.  It’s coming along.  Actually, that’s the reason I am grounded–my senior project is not finished yet.  But I’m about halfway there, if you exclude distribution and the final paper.  I’m trying to go out of my way to make it nice and different from your typical zine.  I’m veering away from words and photos that look clipped out of magazines, though I did find this HILARIOUS photograph of a bunch of baby hawks in a 1974 issue of National Geographic that I must use.  They’re Coopers hawks.

I guess the cover is giving me the most trouble.  I want to draw something, but I need a title first.  I don’t want to rely too heavily on music, either, because then people will get it right away.  That’s one problem with a lot of my artwork, actually–I make art inspired by the music I listen to, so when other people look at it, it lacks the sentimental value that it has for me.  I want a title that will test my potential readers and draw them in.  Then again, I guess if I dig deep enough in my music library, I can find some obscure line that will lure in the lovers and the uninformed.  I kind of want to go French on them.

Speaking of art, if you live anywhere near Lewisburg, even remotely, you ought to come to the Lewisburg Arts Festival.  I recommend coming on Friday or Saturday, I think, because that’s when the high school is selling artwork, I think, and I’ll be selling a bag or two that I am making in hyperspeed this week.  In keeping with my Colonial hobbies, I’ve also been making friendship bracelets for the festival; in fact, kids all over Lewisburg have been working hard at bracelet making.  The bracelets will be fifty cents each and profits will go to help people in Darfur.  It may seem like very little money, but even fifty cents can buy food for a few days.  Allegedly.  I mean, it’ll help, it’ll help.  Also, after finishing two bracelets, let me tell you, they’re no easy feat.  It takes hours of concentration–even a medium-sized (widthwise) bracelet takes about 500 knots, give or take a few.  Not that I counted, but there are ways to figure it out using a calculator.

Oh, but as for the bag sales, you’re probably wondering why I’m selling those.  After all, they’re one-of-a-kind, handmade, they take forever to design and create, and they hold tons of sentimental value.  Well, here’s the thing.  I only really need one bag for myself.  Selling these bags will help the situation in Darfur.  Currently, I am debating donating 10% or 100% of the profits, because I want to help, but seriously, girl needs to save for college.  That’s selfish, I know, but I hate asking my parents for money constantly, just like I hate asking them for rides so I walk where I can.  10% would be decent, but 100% would kick some ass.  I guess it depends on how much I sell the bags for.  Another part of my internal debate is that if I donate the full profits of these ones, it would be like…you know, some limited edition thing available to the public that you can pay for.  And that would be AWESOME.  But what if I start selling them more frequently if and when I buy a sewing machine of my own?

If you’re going to the festival (which I advise), I’m making one bag inspired by Jenny Lewis with the Watson Twins and one bag inspired by some other artist–I’m considering Stars, Andrew Bird, or Final Fantasy.  I don’t know yet, though.  I almost feel like people won’t buy if I make bags themed around the music, but at the same time, that’s sort of my “thing.”  Whatever.

In other reports, today, I was writing notes in English, hunched over my desk, and I realized that my hair was resting on my arm.  This is not a huge deal for most people, but I’ve gone for the past two years with chin-length hair.  And now, when I am sitting straight, it skims the clip part of my bra, on my back.  It serves several purposes.  One, I am more able to emulate Jenny Lewis than ever before, because I am certain that this is the longest my hair has ever been.  Two, it is heavy, dark, and appreciated.  Whenever I had my hair long before, I hated it.  I couldn’t do anything with it.  But I think having bangs helps.  Three, I’m well on my way to donating it to Locks of Love.

My paternal grandmother always brags about how she has two granddaughters (out of many) and one daughter (out of four) who have donated their hair.  She sneaks up behind teenage girls at church who have their hair hanging down to their waists and taunts them–“That would make a beautiful wig for some child who needs it.”  She’s hardcore, but her campaigning has made me strongly consider it.  I just need to wait and keep it healthy in the meantime.

In honour of spending this past weekend with people I have missed and having a comfortable time, I have some mp3s.  For the record, I have never been able to bring myself to sing comfortably in front of anyone else–too much pressure, too much criticism.  But I was so at ease.

This one was my favourite one to sing, and apparently the only song Phelan enjoyed from Across the Universe.  And it reminds me of that TV show, The Wonder Years.

With A Little Help From My Friends | Joe Anderson and Jim Sturgess
[zshare] [mediafire]
[buy] [mp3 direct link]

“Silver Lining” summons memories of moving here, wanting to play Ragnarok all day, feeling sexy without the aid of makeup or a hair straightener for the first time in my life, getting along with Rachael again, missing Richmond perpetually, and spending all day outside but retaining my pale skin because of the religious application of sunscreen.  SPF 50 or so.  I felt so helpless sometimes, but I was free.  Gold.  New.

Silver Lining | Rilo Kiley
[zshare] [mediafire]
[buy] [mp3 direct link]
Rilo Kiley’s Website
Rilo Kiley’s MySpace


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Alright so how angry am I that I am missing the Arts Festival? Have you been? I don’t know when you got here, so I’m not sure if you were here for it last year. The Arts Festival (along with Late Shoppers Night–which I also missed. I cried when I found out I wouldn’t be home for it) is the best day in Lewisburg. I haven’t missed it since forever. It’s the best thing ever. I can’t say it enough. I want to cry right now thinking that I’ll miss it. Yeah, Boston has stuff like that every weekend, but it’s not the same. You don’t know the people selling things. You don’t run into people every step you take. And the stuff us so freaking expensive. AH! I’m so mad.

Anyway. Oh my goodness! Can I see pictures of your bags? I used to make t-shirts. I never did screen printing in my art classes, but I would make these patterns out of laminating paper and use fabric paint. I made so many t-shirts, mostly for myself because I am selfish and can’t stand to sell them. But I did make this one for Kyle, that had an image of his guitar painted on it. It was so fun! And I had this one with a dinosaur attacking a city (Oh, how scene was I?) and he loved it so I made him one, too. I was very proud of them.

Senior projects suck. Mine was due April 13th. I did it April 11th & 12th. I used to want to own a restaurant, so I had this little dinner party thing. It was ridiculous. If it hadn’t been for my friend Kim, I never ever ever would have finished. And then I would have failed high school.

Hm. What else? I don’t know. But send me some pictures of your bags on Facebook or something! Maybe I’ll buy one!

Comment by wellwell

d00d you haven’t been grounded since…i can’t even remember the last time. wow.
but i’m really excited for your senior project, and am i going to get to see it when it’s done sometime???
i’m so proud of you and how awesome you are and helping the kids in darfur. even 10% counts, and it’s not selfish to want to have some money for yourself– you’re thinking of your parents in that, too. you’re kinda saving the whole world♥
OMG i miss having long hair, and i’m sure yours looks amazing, and you are such a good person to want to donate it.

Comment by divya

I totally dig the Rilo Kiley song you posted.
It’d my new favorite.

ps. I’m glad that you’re excited about college. It’s an amazing experience. I wasn’t bummed about graduating HS, but I will def be bummed when I graduate next year. =(

pps. where are you headed to in the fall?

Comment by Rachael




Leave a comment