INDIEchouette


JUICY GOSSIP
8 January, 2010, 1205 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

The other day at Video Fan, I heard a series of two songs by the same artist.  I had no idea what the artist was, so I asked the kindly female at the counter what she was playing.  Answer:  TV on the Radio.

EDIT:  Ummm Lindsay pointed out that I mislabeled “Wolf Like Me” earlier, so I’ve relabled it.

Wolf Like Me | TV on the Radio
[mf] [buy]

I Was a Lover | TV on the Radio
[mf] [buy]

Last night, I had a dream that I had really wide, hairy legs.  In my dream, it made me uncomfortable because my legs are, I think, the only redeeming part of my body.  But in reality, I have lost about five pounds just from being home over break.  I’m in Richmond now, and I don’t see myself keeping off this weight that I did not mean to lose.  This is simply because I lack self-control.

In other news, this is a series of things that do not matter:  One of my sisters got a detention, and the other one was sent to sit out in the hallway.  How these things happen, I don’t know.  For one thing, I never had a detention in all my however many years in grade school.  In fact, I never came close to getting a detention.  I’m too much of a perfectionist with my behavior.  For another thing, my sisters aren’t even nearly bad kids.  All three of us are too shy, or too obedient, or too wary of offensiveness to act out in public places like school.  Rachael got a detention because she was late to school too many times.  Fair enough, because it’s usually her fault that she’s late, but sometimes she’s late because she has to drive my mom to school.  The day they wanted her to serve her detention, she couldn’t because she had to pick my mom up from work (my mom works in the school system).  Funny how that works.

As for Alexa, the whole situation is out of line.  Some kid in her class said something funny, she smirked at it, and she was sent to sit in the hallway for thirty minutes with the girl who forgot her homework.  When the teacher came out to retrieve them, she asked them if they knew what they had done.  Alexa said, “Sorry, but no.”  She’s so sassy when she’s right.  The teacher never explained it to her, probably because she doesn’t even know what Alexa did.  My sister put on a happy front at school and then cried at home, which is better than I would have done.  Behaviorally, Alexa is like me–very prim–but she has an added advantage of charm, which I never had at her age.  Her charm allows her to impress people her own age in a relatable way.  And work-wise, she’s a perfectionist like me, but she’s more motivated than I am.  I think she’s escaped the family curse, and because of it, I think she may easily be the smartest one.


7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yes! Give TV on the Radio a shot! Visit my fansite tvontheradio.de, it’s in German but who needs to read, try the Demos. BTW: like your blog, haven’t known it yet.

Comment by TVOTR

the song is actually called ‘wolf like me’

Comment by lindsay

Thanks for correcting me!

Comment by indiechouette

I’m incredibly glad you’re back Paige.

Comment by Simon

Oh, and you said if I ever started a blog, I should tell you, and I have, but I can’t ensure I’ll keep it up to date or anything, so, that’s a risk you’ll have to take. Here it is: http://figureeight.wordpress.com/.

Comment by simonhorton

Yay! Well, I’ll direct readers to it in my next post so you at least get a readership, even if you don’t update very often. :)

Comment by indiechouette

If you haven’t encountered them yet, you might like mewithoutyou.

I really like the fox the crow and the cookie.

Comment by bozarking




Leave a comment