INDIEchouette


I AM STALLING
8 April, 2009, 614 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

Here are some books I want to read.  Until Nabokov, I have easy access to them.  Since I own most of them.

The Stranger by Albert Camus
What Is The What by Dave Eggers
A Million Little Pieces by James Frey
Girl, Interrupted by Susanna Kaysen
Hypocrite In A White Pouffy Dress by Susan Jane Gilman
Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett
Reading Lolita In Tehran by Azar Nafisi
Diary by Chuck Palahniuk
My Life In France by Julia Child
L’Après-Midi de Monsieur Andesmas by Marguerite Duras
Le Mythe de Sisyphe by Albert Camus
Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
1984 by George Orwell
Animal Farm by George Orwell
The Dharma Bums by Jack Kerouac
Lord of the Flies by William Golding
Into the Wild by John Krakauer
The Motorcycle Diaries by Che Guevara

Here are some authors I want to read but need recommendations.

Aldous Huxley:  I’ve read Brave New World; Brave New World Revisited
Kurt Vonnegut:  I’ve read Cat’s Cradle; Slaughterhouse-Five; Sirens of Titan
Fyodor Dostoyevsky
Franz Kafka
Ayn Rand:  I’ve read Anthem
Don Delillo
Jean-Paul Sartre

Also, I am interested in books by women.  Doesn’t have to be feminist literature, but it sure as hell can be.  I realize that so many of my books are by men, including ones assigned for classes.


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

If you liked 1984 and Brave New World, try The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood.

Comment by Kara

Have you read “The Stranger”? Oh man I loved that book. I own it if you’d like to borrow it over the summertime.

I’ve never read Franz Kafka but when I was in Prague in March we saw the house where he was born and there’s also a museum dedicated to him.

Comment by SaraDay

I realize I do not know you, but I read your blog quite regularly because you are interesting.

Jhumpa Lahiri is an excellent woman author, she is my favorite. Unaccustomed Earth is excellent, so is The Namesake, Interpreter of Maladies…

Comment by Katie

Check out We by Yevgeny Zamyatin. It was one of the first dystopian novels and inspired 1984.

As for woman writers, you must check out Jean Rhys. Start from Good Morning, Midnight :)

You have an awesome blog btw, I really enjoy reading your thoughts. They are quite similar to mine :P

Comment by Camilla




Leave a Reply

