INDIEchouette


A VERY SOBER HALLOWEEN

Here is why I hate Pokémon.

It takes over your life.

Yesterday was Halloween.

So I have yet to get “crunk.”  Since I got to college, everything has been relatively tame.  I have been to two concerts–Land of Talk/Broken Social Scene (with, of course, Kevin Drew, Brendan Canning, and the Apostle of Hustle) and then Tim Fite/Man Man.  And my friends and I were invited backstage at the Tim Fite/Man Man one, but everyone thought we were lame because we wouldn’t get naked, jump around in the hot tub, and fuck them in the hot tub/shower/sauna.  In fact, it was just really awkward and I think it would have been less so if there were maybe more than five/six girls and one male.  Because the only male who really associated with us was Tim Fite’s secondhand man, Leroy.  I would like to give credit to the bearded man in the mint-coloured shirt who brought us towels and water, though, for when we wouldn’t take off our clothes in the sauna.  He seemed like he was trying to help Leroy out, but he also seemed to understand that we were just naive people sucked into a weird situation where we were pretty much expected to drop our pants.

I know I shouldn’t base my college career around my ability to get “crunk.”  It doesn’t matter, as I’m here to focus on my grades.  But that doesn’t mean I don’t particularly want to.  It would be acceptable in an intimate setting with close friends.

Just, last night was fun.  I mean, Jaimie and I put on our costumes (she was a lumberjack and I was an effeminate gnome whose mentor was obviously David the Gnome) and went out to eat at the Village.  And then we rented Donnie Darko and watched it in my room.  And then I fell asleep during the movie and Jaimie probably got mad because she hates sleeping people.

We didn’t get crunk like everyone else at VCU, though.  We had no parties to attend.

I’m wearing my gnome hat right now.

Another blog-related update.  Ummmm, I’ve decided that I’m going to write more third-person stories when I can.  I would call them fiction, but they mostly won’t be fiction.  Thus, I can’t call them microfiction either, so until I find a better name for them, they are stories and microstories, seeing as they’re not very long at all.  My purpose is the analysis of people.  It’s purely for fun.  But I do know that most of you only come here for music.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You really don’t need to get “crunk” to have fun. Then again, not everyone who gets drunk is a total retard.

I guess I usually don’t like the idea of drinking because of the reasons most people choose to get involved, such as “fitting in,”dealing with depression or anxiety,” or “becoming more relaxed.” You can do all of those things without drinking and harming your liver. Also, you can drink without being completely clueless or annoying, so not everyone who drinks should be automatically labeled, which I sometimes need to be reminded.

I’m glad you know when you are/would be comfortable drinking and when it is appropiate for you, since that is all that really matters. Also, good to know you guys had a very nice evening last night ^_^ You both had very interesting ideas for costumes, compared to mine, lol. Also, so jealous that you were allowed backstage! Despite it being awkward, that’s still an experience.

P.S. You’re just mad that you still haven’t captured certain pokemon!

Comment by Ke

I was Miley Cyrus, and also crunk.
Don’t worry about it, though. Getting drunk with people you don’t know very well never struck me as particularly fun; I’ve been on campus for over a year, and I’m pretty comfortable here. Just make sure its a situation you are comfortable with, and it will be lots of fun.
(By the way, I LOVED David the Gnome as a child. Oh, man. No one else seems to have heard of it.)

Comment by Kate




Leave a Reply

