INDIEchouette


JE VEUX FAIRE BOKO-MARU
26 October, 2008, 1241 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I don’t even know how long I’ve been vegan.  Is it one month?  Maybe two months?  Three, perhaps?  I think two months would be the most fair evaluation.  I liked one PostSecret I saw this morning.

Not that I am religious.  But I liked the idea of a religious person considering that perhaps we are not so superior to animals.  Upon thinking about it, that’s not what I get out of this card anymore.  The person only put a cat and a dog on the postcard.  Does this mean that only kindness to cats and dogs, typical living companions, matters?  What about animals we typically eat?

I’m trying to come to terms with the fact that you can probably love more than one person at one time.  Kind of like boko-maru.  You should spread the love evenly and not pile it on one person.  Every person accepts love differently.  But once they’ve accepted it, they want all of it.  It’s not entirely fair to give one person all of your love.  Maybe the theory behind boko-maru is why I don’t know if I will ever get married.

Cat’s Cradle made a lot of sense to me.  It brought clarity to my life.  I would say that it’s tied for My Favourite Book with No one belongs here more than you by Miranda July.  You could say that Cat’s Cradle is My Favourite Book because it is a novel, whereas No one belongs here more than you is a compilation of short stories.

Since I’m reading Cunt right now, you likely think that with all this talk of loving more than one person, I’m preparing to become a Whore.  This is not so.  I’m just preparing to spread the love in a non-sexual way.

My brain, cultured by the Western way of life, keeps telling me that I need to choose one person to love.  I don’t think I should have to do this, but my brain is figuratively leaning in one direction.

Right now, I am thinking, “I won’t let go, I won’t let go.  Even if you say so, oh no.  I’ve tried and tried with no results.  I won’t let go, I won’t let go.”  I’m like that.

I want to do boko-maru with several people, but I don’t think any would be too fond of the idea.  It’s kind of radical.


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

this boku-maru thing kinda makes sense to me. i’ve seriously never thought i was one for marriage. i think we’re supposed to learn things from different people…like everyone in your life is in there for a purpose, and nobody’s lesson for you is worth more than anyone else’s. if that makes sense?

and yes, what about the other animals???

Comment by divya

Ahh, you have articulated exactly what I was trying to grab at!

Comment by indiechouette

eee <3

Comment by divya




Leave a Reply

