INDIEchouette


NEWS!

Every time I have gotten on the damn computer this weekend, I have gained an immense, head-swirling headache. What the hell?

Most exciting news of the today: Jenny Lewis is working on a new solo album. So we get more greatness! We get something that is hopefully better than Under the Blacklight to make up for the disappointment that was Rilo Kiley’s latest album! Yay!

Next most exciting news: Death Cab’s new album, Narrow Stairs, has leaked. My verdict? I don’t like it. I sort of hope that it’s going to be a grower, but here’s my main problem: Ben Gibbard’s voice has changed. It feels weaker, less enthusiastic, shallower, deeper, and vaguely Beatles-inspired. You know, almost nasal. Maybe Death Cab is becoming canned and processed. Or maybe they are being given the opportunity to become uncanned and deprocessed. I don’t know. The only song that really interests me is “Cath…” because it reminds me of the book Miss Misery by Andy Greenwald. One of the main characters is named Cath, Cath Kennedy. She is an internet tempress, a blogger. Yeah. I could enjoy these songs if I wasn’t tripping on a headache and if Ben Gibbard’s voice was the same. I’m a cunt for not enjoying something I stole, I know, I know.*

*A handy reader just tipped me off that it was a hoax. And it is, indeed, a hoax! Actually, it was Charlatantric‘s April Fools prank. Crazy shit. I knew something was fishy. Anyway, the real band that performs these songs is a German band called Velveteen. They have a striking vocal resemblance to Death Cab. The track that was inaccurately named “Cath…” is actually called “The Getaway.” Regardless, I will leave the track up because it’s still a good song. Charlatantric is a sneaky bastard, haha. The one time I go onto his website to check how things are going, he’s got a prank posted…and I fall for it. However miffed I am at being hoodwinked, I am impressed.  His motive was exposure (not to dupe music thieves), and it ended up being a widespread scandal.  April Fool’s prank.

The Getaway | Velveteen
[zshare] [mediafire]
[buy] [mp3 direct link]
Velveteen’s MySpace

In light of Death Cab’s change (see above*), I find myself becoming more and more attached to the Postal Service. At this point, they just seem more pure and unchangeable. Always delightful. So here’s one of my favourite Postal Service works…actually, it’s a popular Flaming Lips song remixed by the Postal Service. Still fucking amazing. They just put a happy twist on the song.

Do You Realize? (Postal Service Remix) | The Flaming Lips
[zshare] [mediafire]
[buy] [mp3 direct link]
The Flaming Lips’ Website
The Flaming Lips’ MySpace
The Postal Service’s Website
The Postal Service’s MySpace

Oh. Ah, I don’t know if I have mentioned this yet, but I got tickets to see Rilo Kiley on June 8th at Toad’s Place Richmond. I probably did mention this, actually, because I almost pissed my pants when a sly reader tipped me off that they were going there. I bought the tickets that day. Now, it would be grand to see my favourite band live, you know, by myself even with a bunch of strangers. But most of my indie-listening biffs are going with me. I am stunned and stoked. Just having the knowledge that I will see Rilo Kiley motivates me. It keeps me moving. It helped me run my 10:34 mile (you’re absolutely welcome to laugh–I would prefer laughing over scolding). It helped me do other…phenomenal things…I can’t really think of anything else it helped me do, except maybe wake up on time.

Also, you may be wondering why I have not been extracting emotions from everyday life and dissecting them in my blog. It’s because of my senior project. I’m reserving all of my emotions for that.


8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

the new DCFC didnt leaked

its a fake.

Comment by alexandre

I’m seeing them when they come out to California and I am stoked :]

Comment by swaziprincess

GOOD LUCK ON YOUR SENIOR PROJECT!
i wish i could have jennylewishair and not look retarded.
are you maybe getting that thing where the kids who watched pokemon had headaches and seizures? please go see the doctor, maybe your computer screen’s settings are at a frequency where it’s screwing with your brain…that’s not good at all. get it checked out please please please. ♥

Comment by divya

Hey there,

I really like your blog – it’s amazingly honest! (this being a good thing)
Cheers for linking us :D

Comment by Konrad Overdrive

…how could you fake a death cab album? i’m not claiming that the first person who commented is lying, i’m just really confused as to how that would be possible.
i was going to ask where you got it (i feel justified downloading it illegally since i will probably buy it eventually,) but i don’t want to get it and be disappointed and get all worked up over a fake…
RILO KILEY LIVE??!!!1one That is indeed exciting. I’m seeing Tegan and Sara in May; I am excited because i really enjoyed their newest album, but i haven’t been in love with them forever and ever, so it’s not quite the same. And I know exactly what you mean about it “keeping you moving”…I got to see Bright Eyes for my graduation present last spring, and it pretty much kept me going through the last month or so of school that seemed otherwise pointless.

Comment by Kate

p.s. sorry about your headache thinger, i hope it gets better :(

Comment by Kate

boh god jenny lewis looks so freegin hot ahhhhhh

Comment by name

Name, I am glad you agree. Haha.

Comment by indiechouette




Leave a Reply

