INDIEchouette


BRIQUE
11 April, 2008, 858 pm
Filed under: Music, Nouvelle Musique | Tags: , ,

This song always makes me cry because it embodies the feeling of falling out of love, or at least feeling unloved and alone. Fear. Fuck, the song is a true story about abortion. Not all conservative “fetuses are people too/don’t abort” but it’s more about the emotional effects on kids. Like, teenager kids. Like, potential mama and papa kids. The live version is actually more successful at making me cry. What if I went to a Ben Folds concert? I would be the crazy chick crying. Rather coincidentally, Derek (who sent me the live version of this track) is at a Ben Folds concert tonight.

Brick (Ben Folds and WASO Live In Perth) | Ben Folds
[zshare] [mediafire]
[buy] [mp3 direct link]
Ben Folds’ Website
Ben Folds’ MySpace

Brick | Ben Folds Five
[zshare] [mediafire]
[buy] [mp3 direct link]
Ben Folds Five’s Website

I would write more, but my body is wickedly restless and my mind is unbelievably exhausted.


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So I’m in my friend’s room right now waiting for her to get finished in the shower so I can take her to Build-A-Bear for her birthday, which was weeks ago, but better late than never. And I’m bored, so I’m going through all these features on WordPress, which I am still getting the hang of, and I see these threads in your comments of things that you’ve written back to me. And this was a month or so ago, but I just now read them all.

Anyway, I’m glad that you found comfort in the story of Kyle (that was his name–I don’t know if I said) and I and how we grew apart and I didn’t answer when he called back that second time. I’ve been thinking about him a lot lately. I even wrote a short memoir for one of my classes about a moment that I remember with him. It’s on my blog, you’ve probably read it. It’s the second most recent entry, I believe. Whatever, I’m sure you know what I’m talking about.

Last night I was thinking about calling him and telling him that I wrote something about him in class. I decided against it, because he’s married and it just seems weird to call a married man. But I did send him a message on Facebook, just asking how he was doing and everyting. Then, in a short paragraph, I wrote about how I had written this short memoir piece about the time we were at Kidsburg and climbed the play set.

Then I read over it again and realized how creepy I must sound, like I’m still in love with him and am crushing on this guy that has a wife (she hates me, by the way) and it just was crazy. So I deleted that last paragraph,and still sent the rest of it that just wondered how he had been.

I’m afraid that if I talk to him about writing about him, he’ll say something that will make me upset or make me want to stop writing about that time in my life. And it was a great time in my life; probably the best that I’ve had, so I want to keep writing about it. I want to remember it as a good thing. I don’t want those memories to be overshadowed by some guy I haven’t talked to in months telling me how ridiculous I am on the phone.

And the thing is, I know he’d say it. Because he always said what he thought. That’s what was so great about him.

Comment by wellwell

ha, and I just read your “About The Music Posted” sidebar, urging people to go buy the hard copies of albums.

I hate downloading music. I do it, but I hate it. If I like a song, I always go and buy the CD. Those artists have worked hard to put that CD on the shelves, and the least I can do is shell out an hour and a half of babysitting money for it.

Comment by wellwell

I am a hypocrite about that sidebar. And really, I have made that sidebar because of the Hype Machine. It’s one of their requirements for linking to a blog that you have some sort of a disclaimer. But I rarely have the cash to shell out for CDs.

At least I normally do not use LimeWire, because that gets to be an addiction. You go on there looking for one song, and you end up downloading a whole album, or a whole collection of an artist’s work. But yeah, I guess the way I do it isn’t much better. Looking for blogs that offer the mp3s I’m looking for.

Also, you know me too well. I read the memoir during study hall yesterday, but it was three minutes to the bell so I had no time for a good comment. Which reminds me that I had loads to say about it.

Comment by indiechouette




Leave a Reply

