INDIEchouette


SEE INSIDE OF THE EYE

I am unable to get in touch with Derek. This must be some higher being SMITING me.

Anyway, today has mostly consisted of music. Music, and eating, and driving my mother to Quizno’s. My madre is going to a concert tonight in New York. I know that’s funny. Now here’s the real kicker: I asked her who it was and she said that the guy she was going with described it as indie. Indie?! My mother doesn’t like indie! So I flipped and made further inquiries, excited that maybe she was going to see someone I liked. Matt Nathanson, though, sounds like a prissy name, and I was disappointed.

Because someone had described him as “indie,” I was interested. I hopped onto the Hype Machine and looked him up, uber eager to hear this newness. I was disappointed.

While he’s not bad, there’s nothing about his songs that I am particularly fond of. He has a voice made for the radio, the industry (which could be negative), but none of his songs are catchy enough. Lyrics are above average–though they rhyme, and he makes fun of James Blunt for bad rhyming–but eh. I’m not smitten. It’s probably because of substandard instrumentation, too much cymbal, and lack of creativity in writing the parts for the substandard instruments. The only thing I found notable in my search was a kind of teaser that hints at the Postal Service’s “Such Great Heights.” But You have to get to about 3:26-ish for the part, and it’s far from the best cover I have heard. When I listen to “Such Great Heights,” it is supposed to be modest and unassuming in…appearance, I guess…but heavy on the heart. Instruments are fine. But Matt tries to go fancy-ass on the vocals and most likely makes a constipated face while singing, and it’s too pretentious because he has no backing instruments. After the line from “Such Great Heights,” by the by, is the segment mocking James Blunt. No lie, it does guarantee at least an internal chuckle.

Bent (live with “Such Great Heights” Postal Service teaser) | Matt Nathanson
[zshare] [mediafire]
[buy] [mp3 direct link]
Matt Nathanson’s MySpace

Matt Nathanson’s Website

Additionally, I have been listening to loads of Animal Collective aujourd’hui, and “Derek” remains my favourite. I bet some of you think that when I talk about person-Derek, I am actually talking about an imaginary friend who I have named Derek after that tasty song. You probably think that I made his MySpace, too. Stole photographs and shit. Yeah, but I didn’t. He’s real.

Lurking a while ago on YouTube, I stumbled across a Blonde Redhead video featuring my love, Miranda July. She poses in a green turtleneck, blue pants, and red-looking high heels. And she has a flower in her hair. It’s an intriguing video, and Miranda July looks stunning (might I add that you can almost always tell a beautiful person, a beautiful soul, by his or her hands?), and I love Kazu Makino’s voice. It is smooth and quirky, as well as versatile. In this particular song, she sounds like she is from a different era. In other songs, she can sound funky and modern. But it’s always the same voice.

Top Ranking | Blonde Redhead
[zshare] [mediafire]
[buy] [mp3 direct link]
Blonde Redhead’s MySpace

Blonde Redhead’s Website

Notice, if you will, that I have a new link below the mp3s, “file named properly.” This is because while the original song link from the name is a direct link (I finally figured out how to do it), that gives you a messy title for the song with all these +es. Even though you can fix it, that’s a pain in the ass. So if you just take maybe an extra click to go to MediaFire and save that there file, it will give you the file with a proper name (if you do it like I do, Artist – Title). I just cleaned up my music library this weekend, retitling files and such, so I figured that maybe some of you other people with beautiful music libraries would appreciate it.


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i currently have the most eclectic music library possible…but i PROMISE soon i will get all the songs from your site that you’ve posted. because i really am curious.

Comment by divya

My music library is hideous. I can never find anything. Well, actually, I can find things, because I go into my “Unknown Artist” section and know what number things are and such. Most of the time. But sometimes I get really angry.

Oh, and my friend and I used to go to metal shows. We hated it at first, but then it became a lot of fun. There’s so much energy, you know? That’s what I like about it.

Anyway, I’ve been listening to a lot of old stuff that I was raised on. Like The Eagles and REO Speedwagon. It’s probably because I was watching Rock The Cradle on MTV the other day, and Joe Walsh’s daughter was on there singing. My brother only listens to classic rock, nothing else, so I had him send me a whole bunch of that stuff.

It brought back a lot of memories because when I was younger my dad would always say to me, “Sara, listen to this song. Listen to this part right here. It’s coming up soon….wasn’t that amazing?” When I was younger I never really understood what he was talking about, but now I realize that I do the same thing, always telling people to listen to specific parts. Most of the time, they don’t understand what I love about it so much, but it’s okay.

But I’m obsessed with this song, “The Heart of the Matter” by Don Henley.

What a long story I just told to get to that point.

Comment by wellwell

So I saw Headlights last night. And they were fucking amazing. I was right near the front of the stage and the guitarist handed me a tambourine and I went to town, and when I was buying a t-shirt after the show he high-fived me for doing a good job.

Comment by Kate

Divya, we need to trade music again sometime.

Sara, I always enjoy your stories. That one about that guy you were close with who got married really stuck with me. Oh, and funny enough, I was watching that show yesterday, too!

Kate, oh my gawd. Haha. That’s the most intensely impressive concert-going experience I’ve ever, EVER heard of! Ahh, Headlights. I’m also glad to hear they put on a fucking amazing show. That makes me want to see them badly.

Comment by indiechouette




Leave a Reply

