INDIEchouette


MONDAY MELEE 25.02.08
25 February, 2008, 736 pm
Filed under: Barrels of Fun, My Experience with Existence

brought to you by the lovely Fracas.

1. The Magnificent: Name someone you absolutely adore, and tell us why.
Not only is Divya a stunnah lookswise–she’s also quite the scholar. Her chocolate-brown eyes reveal an intriguing depth and compassion that reflect her personality. Divya is a humble one. She loves animals and has been vegetarian for perhaps a decade (and plans to go vegan SOON). She’s a fashionista, but she’s not condescending to those who aren’t as fortunately fashionable. Quite the thrifty shopper, she’ll point out the dollah deals. In real-life difficulties, she won’t only hear out your woes, but she’ll actually listen and sympathize and offer a pleasant solution. Plus, she’s extremely affectionate in all the right ways–I would be proud to walk around in a public place like the Short Pump Towne Center holding her hand. As myself, I mean, but I guess even more so as a man. Oh, added bonuses: She’s a Liberal, she’s Indian, and she’s musically inclined. Plus, she’s like quadrilingual (at the very least in the speaking aspects). Hot. More than anything, though, Divya’s just the very best friend who will stick it out over the years. She’ll yell your name down the hallway and run to catch up and not care who hears, because you’re cool enough, period. And she might even link arms with you. Divya can make you feel like the most important person in the world, and she’ll wash away your loneliness even in the most awkward situations (such as Math Analysis). But she is mine. It may sound like I’m trying to auction her off to be married, but she’s not for sale.

2. The Muddy: Tell us something about life you just don’t “get”.
I’m sorry, Brent. :) People who say they don’t like “hip-hop” or “rap” when all they’ve heard is either: A) REALLY DIRTY or B) Just shit on the radio. That is the whitest thing ever. Look. Do a soul search for real artists. Listen. Then you can judge and say what you want. But I swearz it’s not what the radio makes it out to be, just like Death Cab for Cutie is so much more than “The Sound of Settling” or you know…indie rock is so much different from Paramore, Fall Out Boy, what have you. I guess I’m just really stoked after listening to Brittany’s iPod in art today.

3. The Magnetic: Name something or someone good (or bad) you’re drawn to and you just can’t help it. Tell us if you want to change this or not.
You know when two actors kiss and you can see the bottom of the girl’s jaw? It’s normally shaped like a rounded-off “V” and I guess guys would have that, too, except that in movies, girls are always the ones who have to look up to, tippy-toe up to, and generally break their necks for the guys. I often strive for that visible “V”. I’m not saying I wouldn’t date someone shorter than me because it wouldn’t give me that. It’s just hard to find guys who are shorter than 5’2″ who would not land me in jail or at least juvie for now. Actually, I’m not attracted to them anyway if they’re that young. Like, sixth grade, I guess.

4. The Mainstay: Who or what is something you just can’t live without? Why?
Um. Kitty. He sits on my lap while I’m on the toilet. What’s not to love?

5. The Masquerade: Tell us something about yourself we wouldn’t already know.
This one is so difficult for me because I know myself all too well. There’s nothing interesting to report. The problem here for me is that I figure it should be about me directly and not about my crazy family or about I don’t know…an addiction of mine or whatevah. Like, I could tell you that after a long day at school, my feet smell like vinegar and my mom tells me to put on socks maintenant, but that’s not about me. That’s about my gross feet. I could tell you about my ears again–oh, I know! I totally got this. Okay. I have quite the admiration for nice or at least um…characteristic feet, hands, and ears. I think I’d probably shit myself if I had a crush on Travis, but I do appreciate nice feet. I’d never suck someone’s toes because of the way mine smell, and that’s gross. Same with hands–you don’t know where those fuckers have been. But I enjoy looking at the seasoned characteristics of feet and hands. They say a lot about a person. And I love long, thin feet and toes, probably because I have them myself. I also love warm hands and feet because I have freezing hands and [rightfully] symbolically cold feet. I acquired the foot love on my own and I learned from Divya and from my mother how to love hands. As for ears, I dunno! I like to be scratched behind my ears like a cat, I like ear kisses, and I love making other people’s ears feel good.

6. The Mettle: Tell us about a time you showed courage in yourself, or tell us what you wish you had the courage to do.
I was just thinking about how uncorageous I am. And then I was thinking about my friends and hanging out. Here’s my point. In Lewisburg, I have a few friends, and when I hang out with them, I either laugh harder than I’ve laughed in many grim months or I have some of the deepest conversations I’ve ever had, I mean, save for this one conversation I had with my father regarding divorce, drugs, religion, politics, and everything in between. Anyway. I guess I wish I had more courage or motivation regarding making friends at school, but I get so nervous. And then it comes down to this. They know I’m quiet, so that could go one of two ways: I either completely lack sanity and am rather dull or I’m exactly who I am. The “voice of reason,” as my mom used to call me. Either that, or I could just not have much to say at all. Maybe I’m not actually shy! But whenever it comes to talking to new people, I mash up my words, stumble, mumble, and my voice is altered and I just can’t talk the way I talk to my family, which is laden with monotonous sarcasm. And that very sarcasm makes my mom laugh which, in turn, makes me laugh. But most times, other people don’t catch my blatant sarcasm, or they think I’m being contemptuous. In some instances, I’m afraid that people might judge me by the way I look, too. I’m not the spiffiest dresser, but I don’t dress just like everyone else. And they might think I’m stupid or dreadful because of that. That I attempt to stand out with my clothes. But really, I’m just drawn to all the shades of gray. So I’m on my guard constantly, looking out for sideways glances and stuff. Not really, though, because I enjoy school quite a great deal because my classmates are clever cats. I mean, I get a kick out of their logic. I just wish I could contribute and make some people laugh the way I can make my mom laugh sometimes. Haha.

Bee-tee-dubz, tomorrow is Derek’s birthday! I’m just sayin’.


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I know very well what you mean about having a hard time making friends. The only friends I have at school are my roommates, and two girls that my roommates brought back to our suite one day. Thank God I live with three other girls, or else my only friend would be one roommate. But when I talk to new people, my face turns bright red and I can’t articulate my thoughts. And I think people would like my thoughts, if I could only spit them out! And when I’m talking to boys. Oh dear. Recently, I had to peer edit a paper with an extremely attractive boy in one of my classes. It was terrible! I had to tell him good/bad points about his paper, and I just couldn’t say them. And I could feel my face turning into a tomato. Dear Lord. I am going to be awkward for the rest of my life!

And Lewisburg is amazing in winter :) I’m very sad that I missed Late Shopper’s night this past December. I hope you went! It’s my favorite day of the year.

Comment by wellwell

So what’s wrong with being white, again?

Comment by Brent

#4 made me laugh. I’m thinking of what kind of lolcat picture that would make. I dare you. Take the photo and submit it. LOL.

Comment by fracas

HAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHA thank you. i don’t know how else to reply to that first one.

and i will continue reading asap, but i have to go watch the clinton-obama debate for govt right now , and will be back soooooon<3

Comment by divya




Leave a Reply

