INDIEchouette


JUST JOSHIN’
29 November, 2007, 1029 pm
Filed under: Barrels of Fun, Music, Nouvelle Musique

Yo, music listeners, listen up! I have found something incredibly fun and unbearably exciting for you to do. All you have to do is click a link and fill in your opinion. That’s all. I promise. So here’s what I’m asking you to do: Click here and nominate some awesomely excellent music for Stereogum‘s 2007 gummy awards! YAYYY! Uh, hint: I kind of want Jenny Lewis to win Ms. Indie Rock. Help our red-haired heroine beat out Chan Marshall this year and reclaim the title she won in 2005! YEAH! As much as I love both of them…well, Jenny’s a priority. Sorry, Chan. Also, I think our main concern this year is Feist because she’s whored herself out to all those iPod commercials and late-night talk shows that her fans actually don’t watch (unless their mothers remind them about it).

I’m a competitive little chump.

Jaymay

Anyway, it seems that I catch onto new music after everyone else in the world since I get my music from the blogs. Let me clarify. I’m the first one out of my pals to catch onto new music and the last out of the blogs. They pretty much feed me and I just pick out what I like. But that’s okay, because I like to think about the blogs as a chain. We’ve got to pick it up somewhere, and someone has to spread the word.

Thus, it was only a matter of time before I started listening to Jaymay. The first time I glimpsed her name, I honestly didn’t look twice. But the other day, upon sifting through Mythpathe for a new profile song, I stumbled across her YET AGAIN and this time, I decided to check her out.

I’ve fallen in love on the spot a few times. Once was when I had the orgasmic cake batter ice cream at Coldstone Creamery. Another time was when I saw “Litte Miss Sunshine,” which is my favourite movie to date. And you can’t forget the time I went to JC Penney and stumbled across a nice little pair of Levi’s 504s that I like to call my baybays or, if you like French, mes petits choux d’amour. Yeah, creepy, I know. Well, I can’t say that hearing Jaymay’s music was orgasmic, but it did kind of evoke that feeling of love I have for my skinny jeans. And that’s what I like to hear in muzakkk.

I hereby present you with a nice little one by Miss Jaymay that I fell in love with right away because I love shaker solos, mallet instruments (ZOMG BELLSMARIMBAXYLOPHONE!), and, of course, gray or blue eyes.

Gray or Blue | Jaymay [buy]

But buy the album if you know what’s good for you. I’m making my parents do it so that I can be rewarded for Christmas. If you want to hear another excellent one, by the by, go to either Jaymay’s MySpace or mine. By the way, she’s the only artist I support who has no eyebrows. Kidding, sort of.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

cake batter ice cream from maggie moo’s is pretty awesome too.
AND I MISS YOU. i will update my blog soon, hopefully.

Comment by divya

I seriously need to get back into the music scene. Ever since I graduated from college and quit pirating (a cry every day about that decision), I’ve been sadly behind. I guess that’s what happens when you get a job and don’t get to play like you used to. Believe me, even being the last of the blogs is being so far ahead of the general public.

Comment by amateurish




Leave a comment