INDIEchouette


YOU FEEL YOUR BRAIN HAS LIVED A THOUSAND LIVES BEFORE
12 October, 2007, 929 am
Filed under: Barrels of Fun, My Experience with Existence

I am impressionable. But this time, at least for a trial period of a few days, instead of trying to resist and turn things around cent quatre-vingts degrees. And after that trial period, I will probably lose my patience again because although I’m not affectionate and although I constantly find people telling me how chill and low-maintenance I am, that does not mean that I like to be left alone all the time. I despise loneliness. I hate it. I’m scared of it. I’m scared of what it does to people, and I’m scared of dying while I’m overcome with it. Maybe that’s because I don’t completely understand it. I have never detached myself from it and taken a look at it. And I think that sometime when it creeps up on me, I will do just that. I’ll let myself be overcome with that fright, that anxiety, that loneliness, and then I’ll pull away from it and walk away. I hope it feels good.

I cannot fill in the blank for an appropriate adjective to describe Mitch Albom’s writing. I generally like to read fast-paced music novels based on fictional characters that I become attached to because I can relate to their teen selves. But Mitch Albom is a different writer.

See, my mother received The Five People You Meet In Heaven shortly after our eldest cat, Peppe, died. I’d known her since I was born; she was two years older than me, and I was thirteen when she died. My mother refused to read the book because it would make her sad, but about a half a year after Pepper passed, I picked it up, still mourning, and read it. And I loved it. And I forgot about it, but parts stayed with me, parts like the main character reuniting with his wife and with his father. I cried a lot reading that book, but it never had anything to do with pity, not self-pity, not anything sad. They were tears of realization. It sounds ridiculous.

And so yesterday, upon browsing the school library’s biography section in hopes of stumbling upon a Sophocles bio to use for my “Oedipus Rex” paper, I ran into “Tuesdays with Morrie.” I instinctively picked it up and started reading it when I’d found two heavy books on Ancient Greece.

Albom has a way of sneaking up on me. I’ll read a few paragraphs, a few pages, a chapter, and I’ll feel good. And then he’ll throw some statement in there that I know. Something that just jumps out at me and connects with the way I feel, and it will make me cry. Or he’ll write something so terribly nostalgic and personal that my eyes will start to burn reading. Yes, it sounds ridiculous. But you have to read Mitch Albom to get it.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i love mitch albom!!! did you know there’s another book out by him? it’s called ‘for one more day’. haven’t read it yet, but i’m expecting it to be as good as the others.

Comment by divya

and i think you meant ‘brain’, not ‘brian’.

Comment by divya

i’ve read for one more day. it is excellent.

Comment by adam




Leave a Reply

