INDIEchouette


YOU’LL BE HAPPY
9 October, 2007, 936 pm
Filed under: Music, My Experience with Existence, Nouvelle Musique

First up, I’m in love with the song “Paper Planes” by M.I.A. I mean, it sounds silly because of the SFX!!, but that girl has a lot more sense than one would initially figure.

She kind of reminds me of the discussion we had today in AP English about third world countries and general third world-ism. It seems so surreal to me now in my generally comfortable home. I mean, I have water and power to wash myself and when I’m hungry, I grab something out of the fridge because there’s food there. And even as you move around the country, you’ll notice a different “norm.” In the suburbs of Richmond, we were poor and there were lots of arguments in the family about money and not being able to afford things. Now in the suburbs of Lewisburg, we’re pretty much the norm, maybe a little more well-off than some, despite our tiny house. We don’t have any more money than we did before! It’s just the area and the cost of things. Even the way people act is different. I mean, we talked about this in English, too. There’s still racism down south, plenty, and lots of Confederate flags (when I moved there, I was offended by them, and I suppose I still am) but as far as within schools, there’s almost more up North; a lot of them haven’t had exposure to lots of black kids or hispanic kids or whatever. I love me some diversity.

Also, someone else pointed this out–in Pennsylvania, you don’t walk down the street or the halls making eye contact with everyone and saying, “Hey,” to strangers or smiling at them, or waving. You look like a dumbass if you do because people will give you a mental smackdown, and you’ll know because of their EYES. Being friendly to strangers was something I learned as a must to making friends in my last few years down South. Maybe that’s why I initially felt singled out when I moved here. People were staring at me because I did all those things. I didn’t even realize I was doing that. And one of my teachers pointed out that people are really “Amish” here; they’re nice enough if you talk to them, but they’ll never go out of the way to include you or get to know you. I think that’s weird, since back down South, the new kids would be included eventually, even in such a huge school. Anyway.

Rilo Kiley MTV this week. Rilo Kiley est la bande de la semaine. It’s freakin’ insane. I’m not sure whether I’m excited that they’ll generate new fans or if I’m disappointed that the time has come when Jenny’ll “sell out and leave Omaha” and she’ll get “a mansion house and a rabbit fur coat,” y’know? I love Rilo Kiley very much, and to see the band that produced “A Better Son/Daughter” and “More Adventurous” in this state upsets me. They have so much more potential to change lives, and they’re toning their act down for MTV.

Of course, my initial reaction was excitement; I stopped what I was doing, dashed in front of the TV, and absorbed. I think I’ll just encourage friends to watch for them on MTV this week; that’s all I can do. I mean, the more exposure Rilo Kiley gets, the better. More reason for another album. And when someone else goes out to listen to “Under the Blacklight,” that’s another chance at digging up their older, grander pieces and exposing what brought them up to this point, what makes me love them, and why they are famous to begin with.

Rilo Kiley

I can only leave you with the lyrics to “A Better Son/Daughter” and word that I am a coward and that this song is essentially my Bible for the unsteady believer.

Sometimes in the mornin’ I am petrified and can’t move
Awake but cannot open my eyes
And the weight is crushing down on my lungs
I know I can’t breathe and hope
Someone will save me this time
And your mother’s still callin’ you insane
And I’m swearin’ it’s different this time
And you tell her to give in to the demons that possess her
And that God never blessed her insides
Then you hang up the phone and feel badly for upsetting things
Crawl back into bed to dream of a time
When your heart was open wide and you loved things just because
Like the sick and the dyin’

And sometimes when you’re on
You’re really fuckin’ on
And your friends they sing along and they love you
But the lows are so extreme that the good seems fuckin’ cheap
And it teases you for weeks in its absence
But you’ll fight and you’ll make it through
You’ll fake it if you have to
And you’ll show up for work with a smile
And you’ll be better
And you’ll be smarter
And more grown up and a better daughter or son
And a real good friend
And you’ll be awake
You’ll be alert
You’ll be positive though it hurts
And you’ll laugh and embrace all your friends
You’ll be a real good listener
You’ll be honest
You’ll be brave
You’ll be handsome and you’ll be beautiful
You’ll be happy

Your ship may be comin’ in
You’re weak but not givin’ in
To the cries and the wails of the valley below
And your ship may be comin’ in
You’re weak but not givin’ in
And you’ll fight it, you’ll go out fightin’ all of ’em

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i would be dumbass number 1 if i went up there to PA because i smile at random people and say hi if i kinda sort know them and………..hahaha i’d be weirded out.

Comment by divya

I do that! I smile at people, and there’s this one kid in particular that Rachael and I have met and kind-of know, and if you smile at him, he will pointedly not make eye contact with you for close to a week! We laugh every time we walk by him, not because he’s ugly or weird (he is not) but just because of that eye contact thing. It’s SOO WEIRD.

Comment by leindiemeister

So you’re saying he’s weird?

Sounds like I might get along well up there. I don’t think I smile much(well, when I’m not doing anything with another person), and I don’t start up conversations unless I know the person. I get the feeling I come off as ‘in a bad mood’ or ‘not someone fun to talk to’ most of the time.

Comment by wut?!

i think the thing that pisses me off the most when indie bands/artists get “popular” is all the stupid people who are like “OMG I LOOOVE THAT SONG” and have no idea what the band is actually about, couldn’t tell you the name of their debut album to save their life, etc. People are conditioned to just take in individual songs and never learn a thing about the artists, their other work or their albums as a whole. (I love albums, personally; I love how all the songs fit together as a whole.)
My favorite band, Death Cab, has definetly gotten more mainstream over the past few years (especially with the release of “Plans,”) and it kind of irks me how many people who I consider “casual” music listeners are like “I love me some Death Cab!” They still haven’t sold out, though, in my opinion, and I doubt that Rilo Kiley will either.

Comment by Kate Flynn

Kaaaaate! Ahh, Death Cab is one of “those bands.” Almost everyone can vouch that they’ve heard of them (or at least of the Postal Service), many can vouch that they’ve heard and liked a song, and few can tell you anything about them because they’re so ignorant. And few dislike them. Ben Gibbard’s voice makes my knees buckle, essentially. But you know, you’re right. They haven’t sold out, not even after all these years of being amazing, making amazing records. I mean, even with popular ones like “Tiny Vessels,” ones that actually reached the radio, they’re not attention whores, I guess. They’re not in the media spotlight, they don’t have the paparazzi tailing them, and they don’t have stupid twelve-year-old groupies waiting for them to sweep them off their feet (though if you and I were twelve again…maybe–probably you being the most hardcore fan around, but not in the sense FOB lovers wait around for Pete Wentz). I respect you immensely for being a die-hard Death Cab fan. I mean, they’ve got lots of IT and always have in the past, whatever IT may be, and well, it takes a true fan to appreciate that. And I suppose I should have more faith in Rilo Kiley; even if they are getting media exposure now, I guess Death Cab must have gotten some of that at one point, or maybe more than one point. And so what if they get a radio hit? Not everyone will pick up on it, and the die-heard pwnstars will be able to smell the n00bs from a mile away. Plus, I love “Silver Lining,” and I wouldn’t mind being able to hear that driving places once in a while. Ahh, you make sense.

Jay, he is NOT weird. He’s just shy or something. Quiet. Impenetrable. You, on the other hand, might be slightly Amish, but that’s alright. “When I’m not doing anything with another person.” Hahaha, I could misconstrue that but I will not. And I’ve already told you that as a sophomore, I was always incredibly intimidated by you. So yeah, you do come off that way.

Comment by leindiemeister

Now that you mention it, you did tell me that before. Am I the only one who thinks it’s funny that I can come off as intimidating?

Comment by wut?!

Apparently.

Comment by leindiemeister




Leave a Reply

