INDIEchouette


MELEE NUMBER TWO
8 October, 2007, 813 pm
Filed under: My Experience with Existence

Monday Melee of 08 October, 2007

1. The Misanthtropic: Name something about humanity you absolutely hate.

I hate that people lie, which propels them to do stupid things. I don’t understand it, I guess, because I just don’t lie about things, and I keep secrets that need to be kept. And I think that hiding your feelings for someone is stupid. I also hate playing “games,” which is what my mother encourages me to do when something in a relationship has gone awry. What’s the point?! If I like a guy, I’m going to want to date him, whether I convey that or not. And if I’m dating a guy, you’d better be damn sure that I like him and that I’ve considered all possible pros and cons of dating him. These decisions take time for me, whereas for select members of the other gender, everything can be halfhearted because they can always break up if things go wrong. No big deal about leading a girl to believe you like her when you don’t really, right?!  Don’t get me wrong; I love boys as friends.  Just not so much in relationships.

2. The Meretricious: Expose something or someone that’s phony, fraudulent or bogus.

My sister. Gahh, okay, on Judgment Day (well, musical judgment day), she’ll be exposed, but I can’t believe she has the balls to add something like, “…Sufjan Stevens…Death Cab for Cutie…Moving Units…Regina Spektor…some Arcade Fire,” to her MySpace and Facebook profiles! She doesn’t listen to my music. In fact, when I lent her a Feist CD because she claimed she liked Feist, I never once heard her play it, and about a week later, I went in to retrieve it and found it on the floor of her room with a cracked case. Sufjan Stevens, she once borrowed Come On! Feel The Illinoise! and just plucked “Chicago” off of it because it was the “Little Miss Sunshine song” and she never listened to it after. Arcade Fire, she added because they are a boy magnet. Boys like the Arcade Fire because they’re an unconventional band. But if they ask her anything about Win Butler’s genius or how much “Haiti” means to her, she’ll tilt her head to the side and say, “Huh?” In fact, the only song she knows and kind-of likes is “Rebellion (Lies).” Which is, of course, a crowd pleaser (but still deep). That just pisses me off since I’m a diehard fan of those bands, and she can pass as a half-assed not-fan to any passerby. Maybe she secretly admires me. I don’t know.

3. The Malcontent: Name something you’re unhappy with.

My eyebrows! They look like hell lately, and I cannot go in to get them waxed because of the last “incident” where they did them too far apart and the fat troll woman was mouth-breathing heavily on me the whole time. I am also fairly unhappy that I have not been able to talk to Derek lately, and that whenever I try to tell him something I’ve meant to tell him for however long, whether it’s deep and meaningful or not at all, he becomes distant and will not respond. It makes me pretty sad, since he was always open-minded with me.

4. The Meritorious: Give someone credit for something and name it if you can.

Erika for gettin’ me into Bright Eyes in the first place what with lending me Lifted two years ago. Erika, I cried when I listened to it the first time! The connection was there! I’ll also give Derek credit for ah, having a nice mouth, though we have not actually been talking as much as I would like lately.

5. The Mirror: See something good about yourself and name it

My sureness, even if it’s preceded by a bunch of indecisiveness.

6. The Make-Believe: Name something you wish for.

A picnic.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

ooh. nifty idea. i might borrow it for my own blog soon…

Comment by divya




Leave a Reply

