INDIEchouette


ILS NE T’AIMENT PAS COMME JE T’AIME
8 September, 2007, 813 pm
Filed under: Music

We were driving to the Selinsgrove DMV today for the second time and I heard the beginning to none other than “How Soon Is Now” by The Smiths. I was stoked. While I was enjoying the song, I thought about how many bands I know, and how, whenever I start to listen to a band, I do research on them. I find out about the members and other songs and their nationalities and their backgrounds and connect them to Jenny Lewis. For some reason, I can’t just listen to an artist. The background is, to me, just as important as the music because it’s what influences these people. I learned about The Smiths and got into them because of the book “How Soon Is Never?” by Marc Spitz. It’s one of the few books I can reread. I thought about the Shout Out Louds and The Arcade Fire, and then I considered their cover of “Maps” and how phenomenal it was, and how I even looked into the Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Karen O. and this story I’d heard about her. My mind moved on to other things, like The Perks of Being a Wallflower and feeling infinite in the valleys of Pennsylvania just like Charlie. And then I heard this guitar, this strumming guitar for a few measures and I wondered…and then the drums confirmed it and I knew I was listening to “Maps” by the Yeah Yeah Yeahs on the radio. And I felt good for a few minutes and I thought about how neat it would be to ride through the tunnel in the back of a truck standing up listening to one of these songs. And then it was over and “Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels)” didn’t come on and I figured out it was a college radio station and not a psychic. I felt great for those ten minutes, though, really truly. It’s kind of hard to feel that if you just listen to the regular radio, you know? You need to branch out. How rare it is to feel that way.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

