INDIEchouette


PICTURE BLOG
1 September, 2007, 210 pm
Filed under: Music, My Experience with Existence, Nouvelle Musique, School

This one is going to have few words because Phelan cannot read. He actually can read (according to his MySpace, he’s “18 years old” coughfourteencough and educated, so he should be able to), but I get the impression that he doesn’t particularly like to. Hmmm.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

I finished the book today. I cried because minus the molestation, gender, drugs, and age, I am exactly like Charlie.

Chaussures Noires

I own these shoes. They are plastic from Payless.

Silver Shoes

My aunt bought these shoes and they did not fit her, so she gave them to me, and I love them very much. I rather like silver shoes.

Chausures Marrons

I also own these shoes, which my mom owns, too, in a smaller size.

Charlotte Gainsbourg

For my birthday, I received Charlotte Gainsbourg’s album, 5:55. I shall enclose some of my favourite songs from the album, which is very French. I love Charlotte Gainsbourg’s works. She has a European air about everything she does (she is European), and I feel like she is a European Feist or Cat Power.

The Operation | Charlotte Gainsbourg [buy]
The Songs That We Sing | Charlotte Gainsbourg [buy]
Everything I Cannot See| Charlotte Gainsbourg [buy]

Science of Sleep

I told Phelan he has to watch The Science of Sleep. He is taking French this year and believes that he is a large part of life and the universe. I enjoyed the movie very much and am searching for the soundtrack currently.

Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels)

Last night on the band bus, everyone raided my iPod. Aggie says that Rilo Kiley has sad songs, and upon thinking about the meanings and the lyrics, I’ve discovered she’s right. Even a happy song, like “My Slumbering Heart,” has sad undertones. Maybe that’s why I like Rilo Kiley so much. Erika did once mention that she and I are naturally melancholy people. I get so nervous talking to people, but Rojo was keen on discussing Metric, who my cousin Sean introduced me to last summer, and I had fun talking music. Metric is summer all-nighters for me. I like Emily Haines. He also wanted to talk about Motion City Soundtrack. Even if I’ve abandoned listening to them avidly because of iPod space and indie, I will always have a soft spot in my heart for MCS. Bands like Fall Out Boy, I’ve abandoned because they were a fad and maybe I didn’t really like them as much as I thought I did. But MCS clicked because they were clever and original, but never childish or overdone. I might make Jordon a CD because he has never heard of the bands on my pod, and he wants to know what all the fuss is about. Also, I caught Aggie listening to “Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels),” and that pretty much made my day. I’ve come to the conclusion that this song is my favourite of all time.

Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels) | The Arcade Fire [buy]

Hi-5

I also learned how to hi-5 someone successfully. Watch their elbow and it’ll come naturally.

iPod

Later today, I will compile a list of my top 5 favourite songs of all time. I just have one question right now. What would compel someone to blow up an iPod? For science’s sake or for “I-have-lots-of-money-and-nothing-better-to-do”s sake? That pisses me off.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

nifty. i really gotta read that book soon. checking it out asap.

Comment by divya

Just dropping by to share the Charlotte Gainsbourg love. Her album is fantastic. :D

Comment by xinsui




Leave a Reply

