INDIEchouette


HEY-OH IT’S MONDAY!
25 June, 2007, 1029 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

The Monday Melee

The idea comes from Fracas, and I’ve meant to do it for the past month, but always remembered on Tuesday.  And I would never cheat.

1.  The Misanthropic:  Name something (about humanity) you absolutely hate.
I despise the way we treat animals.  I hate it.  I hate zoos because no animal deserves to be gawked at.  I hate the circus for some of the same reasons, and because of the way they treat their performing animals.  I hate the Deep Run Homecoming Parade because every year I have to march right behind the truck carrying the caged wildcat and just stare that poor, beautiful cat in the face while it inhales smoke, endures yelling, sits in a cramped, uncomfortable space, and is forced to look at me.  I hate the SPCA because they could afford nicer cages for their pets and better lights and because they kill their animals.  I hate factory farms, I hate the idea of dairy products, and I hate the idea of meat even more.  I hate hunting and fishing and I hate roadkill.  I hate industrialization.

2.  The Meretricious:  Expose something or someone that’s phony, fraudulent or bogus.
Oooh, let’s see.  I could expose a bunch of things right now.  But I think I’ll expose the ending of Happy Feet.  It’s so not going to happen like that, but if it did, that would be nice.

3.  The Malcontent:  Name something you’re unhappy with.
I don’t like that Derek is in Illinois and I’m in Virginia.  I don’t like it one bit.  I miss him so much that it can’t even register.

4.  The Meritorious:  Give someone credit for something and name it if you can.
Credit goes to Spencer for reminding me about Sigur Rós so I would start listening to them today.  Because they’re good.  And Icelandic.

5.  The Mirror:  See something good about yourself and name it.
I have a pretty little mouth.  And when I get the chance, I use it to stand up for myself.  I’ve conformed a little to the Deep Run standards, but I haven’t sacrificed who I am and worn unflattering Polos and Crocs and Uggs in the process.  I’m a tomboy, but I’m also as delicate as a vase.  And I don’t say much.

6.  The Make-Believe:  Name something you wish for.
Yesterday, it was that Derek makes it safely to Illinois, which he did.  Right now, it’s somewhere between hoping that he doesn’t die before I get to see him again and maybe something selfish and superficial like wishing I had perfectly straight dark brown hair instead of wavy brown hair with hints of red or wishing I had blue eyes instead of hazel eyes or wishing I had perfect vision or wishing I had a different nose, more clearly pointy.  If you’re talking about more material things, not superficial, I wish there was more fruit in my house.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

i love the last sentence of this post. and i’m gonna borrow this idea later.

Comment by divya




Leave a Reply

