INDIEchouette


THE ARCADE FIRE VERSUS JENNY LEWIS
23 June, 2007, 1030 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Alright.  Although I prefer the Arcade Fire over any other music at most times, I almost always [but just now realized that I] feel a little more Jenny Lewis than I do Regine Chassagne.

The reasons I mostly prefer the Arcade Fire include the obvious such as their use of French and then the less obvious like the pure massiveness of the band, the secrecy as to personal affairs (which I can relate to), the foreignness, the almost lo-fi sound (at least on tracks like “The Woodlands National Anthem”), Sarah Neufeld’s birthday (which is a day before mine), Sarah Neufeld’s hair, the way Regine dances when singing “Haiti”, their distance from the crowd, that they put on a life-changing live show.

[As I type this, I can hear that my across-the-street neighbour has started a middle school garage band.  How cute.  THEY REALLY SUCKCKCK.]

But it all comes down to how I write.  Jenny Lewis dictates her songs in a vivid way that allows you to step into her life for three or four minutes.  She’s modern, soul-bearing, and although she doesn’t use huge words or lofty phrases from other languages, you know she’s writing for you.  The Arcade Fire, in truth, writes songs for their own pleasure.  Never for the listener.  And you almost NEVER know what the fuck they’re talking about.  I mean, you can take a guess or two and almost be right, but Jenny Lewis tells it like it is.

I write a little more like Jenny Lewis than I do Win Butler.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

