INDIEchouette


THE ULTIMATE RUNNING MIX, VOLUME I
24 May, 2007, 1059 pm
Filed under: Mixtapes, Music

UPDATE 02.12.07: I’m going to put this in a .zip file which you can access in a link below. The other links won’t work right now because I haven’t put them on MediaFire yet, but I’ll get to that later.

Ultimate Running Mix, Volume 1

So I’ve been running about a mile day for the past few days (and every other day for the weeks preceeding that), and sometimes, I need a little adrenaline rush to keep me going. Since I got these new running earbuds, I thought, “Why not make a running playlist?” My mood while running is both pondersome and kick-ass, and making the right playlist wouldn’t be tough. So I threw some crap together and Voila! Running Mix. They’re in alpha order, mostly, mainly because I always like to shuffle them up. Of course, the whole playlist generally lasts three miles without repeats, but just in case…

jogger

1. Heretics | Andrew Bird
“Thank God it’s fatal/Thank God it’s fatal/Not shy/Not shy and fatal/Not shy and fatal/Thank God”
I catch myself listening to this one as I walk from class to class. It’s not invasive and definitely thoughful, which makes it a great travelling song. There’s faint whistling and definitely one of those songs you just have to pin as universally atmospheric. I can fall asleep to it, but I can also run to it. This song is one of those that makes me look around and appreciate the way the sun falls on the ground.

2. Don’t Panic | Coldplay
“‘Cause here, everybody here’s got somebody to lean on”
This is the single most pondersome earthly song I’ve ever heard. But it comes from Coldplay. And the lyrics are nothing new. Garden State Soundtrack, I rest my case.

3. This Is the Dream of Win & Regine | Final Fantasy
“But what if they like it/And lock us in a cannery with your accordian?”
Clock-like ticking in the background, beautiful violin, mellow but astonishing voice. It’s all driven by the drums and the clock. The lyrics propel me, but it’s not like Owen Pallett is singing a love song to me–he’s singing it to someone else, Regine, from Win. This is another one that I walk from class to class with. That’s rare, because I don’t want to be embarrassed by something not thought-provoking. Other kids can read my mind, I’m sure.

4. When You’re Around | Motion City Soundtrack
“‘Cause I can’t fuckin’ stand it/When you’re around”
It’s a skeleton in the closet, especially since when I asked for this album when I was fourteen, my mother bought me the um…radio-friendly version. The curse words are a little “I’m-a-hip-punk-band,” because they don’t use other “bad” words, but in this case, it makes the song. Although I’ve changed a million ways since I was a die-hard, including (but not limited to) dressing differenly, hating cymbals, dropping FOB, making fun of emo kids, not really caring too much about Warped Tour, I still adore this song. In my closet. With closed doors and windows. It’s liberating listening to more pop-like music sometimes, though. When You’re Around is summer.

5. You Are What You Love | Jenny Lewis with the Watson Twins
“I’m in love with tricks/So pull another rabbit out of your hat”
As everyone knows, I love Jenny Lewis. Rilo Kiley or solo, she can bring pictures to life. Her synthy sounds are bittersweet but air more on the pleasant side. This particular song has more drive than her other solo ones, and it’s probably the only one you can listen to when you’re pissed off. It just gives more motivation to keep on truckin’.

6. Antarctica | Page France
“You take your mother’s hat/And I’ll wear your father’s shoes”
I’ll get married in a garden in the sun in the warm spring, and this song will play for no apparent reason, except that I enjoy it.

7. Ruby | Kaiser Chiefs
Could it be, could it be/That you’re joking with me/And you don’t really see/You with me?!
I feel so bad, because it’s a really pop song as far as indie goes, but it’s soooo gooood! It could be a GHII song if only it had more excellent guitar solos (and maybe sixteenth notes for like…Expert). Well, not really. It’s still powerful and sing-alongable. Basically, I saw/heard it on IMF and fell in love.

8. For Energy Infinite | Mazarin
I could have sworn I’d heard this song on a commercial the first time I heard it. I mean, it wouldn’t be the first of the indie-pop wave to be chosen for a commercial. Look at Hustle Formation and Portions for Foxes and that Melanie Horsnell track, as well as some by the Strokes. Well, a friend confirmed my suspicions yesterday via a MySpace message. For Energy Infinite is a dance track at best, and a sprinting song at a little less. I can’t find the lyrics ANYWHERE, by the way.

9. Neighbourhood #3 (Power Out) | The Arcade Fire
“I went out into the night/I went out to find some light/Kids are swinging from the power lines/Nobody’s home so nobody minds”
At first, it sounds evil and empowering. Then it sounds almost sing-song what with all the bells, and then, it’s just the essence of happiness. This is one of The Arcade Fire’s strongest songs ever, period. Win Butler kind of sounds like Satan at some parts, especially when he says, “Light a candle for the kids/Jesus Christ don’t keep it hid.”

10. Your Heart Is An Empty Room | Death Cab for Cutie
“And out on the street/Are so many possibilities/To not be alone”
This is the only Death Cab song that I can stand any time of day, because it’s upbeat enough to run to, it’s mellow enough to be able to enjoy on the bus, and it’s pondersome enough to be able to fall asleep to. It can cheer you up if you’re sad (and it’s exactly what you want to listen to when you are upset), but it won’t bring down your mood if you’re happy.

11. Phantom Limb | The Shins
“This is that foreign land with the sprayed-on tans/And it all feels fine/Be it silk or slime”
Oh, my gawd. Phanton Limb was on Fuse one day when I got home from school, so I dropped everything I was doing, ran into the family room, and danced like the silly little girl I am. I hopped up and down, sang along, and an onlooker would have thought I was incurably insane.

12. The Execution of All Things | Rilo Kiley
“Then we’ll murder what matters to you and move on to your neighbours and kids”
In a normal situation, no. It’s not a travelling song. It’s a chilling in the back yard song. For running and being in the raw air, the locomotive sounds change this. There’s nothing upset in this song. It’s all about apathy and mellowness, in the lyrics, in the sound, in Jenny Lewis. I like to be outside when I listen to this song, just because it mixes well with the humidity of a Virginian spring and the green of the leaves on the trees at sunset and the dust and the gravel in my sneakers.

13. Goodnight and Go | Imogen Heap
“Follow you home/You’ve got your headphones on/And you’re dancing”
Imogen Heap has a way of catering to everyone–the preppier sort who listen to The OC for Ben McKenzie, the indie sort who crave something else that’s indie as fuck, the people who really “appreciate” music. This is arguably her happiest song. There’s no gender discretion, either, not really, so you’ll likely end up thinking of someone if you pay attention to the lyrics.

14. Parentheses | The Blow
“If something in the deli aisle/Makes you cry/Of course I’ll put my arm around you and walk you outside/Through the sliding doors/Why would I mind?”
Sailboats, hula-dancing in New Jersey, and fancy French boulangeries are the things this song reminds me of. Hula-dancing in a fancy French boulangerie on a sailboat can’t be bad, either.

15. Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa | Vampire Weekend
Gawd. Whenever I hear this song, I feel like I’m either at the beach, on a yacht, or in Massachusetts (I’ve never been there). It’s SUMMAH!

16. Elevator Love Letter | Stars
“My office glows/All night long/It’s a nuclear show/And the stars are gone”
I want to sing along every time I hear it. It’s a little too dolce for my taste sometimes, but it’s about a bad day, and it relieves a bad day–such an uplifting two-sided love story, though–just like running a mile. You’re invincible. You just don’t know it yet.

17. Keep The Car Running | The Arcade Fire
“They know my name ’cause I told it to them/But they don’t know where and they don’t know when/It’s coming”
On CD, it’s a lady-killer. Live, it’s a spiritual revival. You don’t really get the lyrics, but they hit like stones thrown against your window by your lover. Anything could potentially send chills down your spine. When I’m walking, I try to step to every beat because I want to be a part of it.

18. Four Winds | Bright Eyes
“The Bible’s blind, the Torah’s deaf, the Qu’ran is mute/If you burn them all together, you get close to the truth”
Haha, amaaaazing. One of the few good ones off Cassadaga, actually (Uh, I didn’t like Cassadaga). As promised, Four Winds is the folky new sound of Bright Eyes. The same profound lyrics spill from Conor Oberst, but his voice lacks the waver. We know that. It’s a quirky travelling song, though. Everything moves along.

19. Thimble | Arizona
At the beginning, during the rain sounds, I hear my footsteps, and I feel like I’m in a music video, just a sole runner on the track on a sunny afternoon, pwning. For a short person such as myself, it’s easy to run to the beat.

20. Take It Easy (Love Nothing) | Bright Eyes
“Everything is as it’s always been/This never happened”
Bright Eyes rarely has anything danceworthy or driven, but when they do, it’s going to be highly-refined, like this. You don’t notice the guitars, but you don’t notice what they’re lacking, either. You notice the bass, but you think it’s percussion. It’s a trippy, money-filled (sounds like that of money in the pocket), joyous song for no reason at all.

21. The Calendar Hung Itself | Bright Eyes
“Does he walk around all day at school/With his feet inside your shoes/Looking down every few steps/To pretend he walks with you?”
Conor Oberst is quite hot and heavy here and a tad stalker-esque. I saw an anime music video for FLCL with this song, and the clips and music went well together. Although this song is about stalking an ex-girlfriend and being a coward about suicide, the essence of it all is sex. The beat is mainly why I use it for running. There are percussive sounds going on all over the place, and it’s easy to get caught up in the naughty sweatiness of everything.
ADDED TREAT!! This version is live from April 17th, 2007. Enjoy my hard efforts to find you this song.

22. Portions for Foxes | Rilo Kiley
“The bad dreams lead me to calling you/And I call you and say, ‘C’MERE!'”
Just like The Calendar Hung Itself, this song is sex. Just a little more subtle and gentle, I suppose. Less hot and sweaty, more “Come-on-over-to-my-air-conditioned-flowery-pink-and-beige-garden-mansion-and-let’s-get-it-on-in-mid-afternoon.” Yeah! Oh, and E-Dawg and I have all the choreography down for this one.

23. Rebellion (Lies) | The Arcade Fire
“People try and hide the night/Underneath the covers/People try and hide the light/Underneath the covers”
I walk perfectly in step with this one, no matter where I’m going. The tempo is my walking tempo. Drums, piano, guitars, voice, full band singing, violins. This is a dance song. And I love it.

24. Spectacular Views | Rilo Kiley
“Indifferent but distanced perfectly, projected endlessly/It’s so fuckin’ beautiful”
Not gonna lie, I hate highhat, I hate suspended cymbals, I hate all that in songs. This is one of the few I can stand, though. One of my favourite places to listen to it is on the bus rides on fall mornings. Buses are such ugly, disgusting inventions, but you can look out the window and see that beautiful sunrise and hear those notes that dictate it perfectly. I don’t think I could ever truly listen to this song except in the sun.

25. Combat Baby | Metric
“Ever since you’ve been gone it’s all caffeine-free/Faux punk fatigues”
Emily Haines knows how to please people with her music. The first hundred times I heard this song, I was on my cousin’s back porch. He was addicted. When I got home, I kind of forgot about the song, then a year later, I picked up Metric and was shocked to find that she’d penned this song. I understood why he was addicted.
ADDED TREAT!! This one’s live and pretty great, too.

PS -> Would you believe that this post took me a WEEK?! The writing took a few hours (I had to go back and listen to/relive every song), then finding and uploading the songs took a few more. Gawd. I enjoyed almost every minute, though. Almost.


6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

great playtrack, needs more stars though ;o (they’re my favourite band haha)

Comment by adam

thnx for “lurking” by ;o)
got to say..I am german..and therefore it can happen that I write sometimes in german..but officially I ‘ d like to be read in english..cause the audience u can catch is much bigger then..nice music taste u have..later on I will take a closer look ..got to finish a review about jeremy warmsley’s new album..did u already check it out?..could be somethin for u..
hasta pronto..
melanie

Comment by gruuwiees

Thanks for taking the time to do this! I have enjoyed listening to your selections. Some I already had, others were new to me.

Have you heard of camille? She’s a french singer. I found a cd of hers at the library, and it is really interesting. Almost entirely vocal-only, yet it rarely seems that way. (think of bobby mcferrin and yo-yo ma in their duos, and the way you forget that there is a human voice in there) So yeah, you might find it intersting, you might hate it, who knows! (my french is really basic, so I have little idea of what her lyrics are about, which can make or break the music for me in english or, to a somewhat lesser extent, german.)

Oh, I tagged you for a meme.

Comment by Deb

6 of those are on my running mix.

I have a few more skeletons on mine.

And Rage.

Comment by Erika

Indie-loving francophiles MUST visit this website: http://www.blogotheque.net/concertaemporter/. Maybe you know about it already? They follow the nicest, coolest bands on the streets of NYC and Paris and they even covered Arcade Fire, The Shins, Sufjan Stevens, and my favourites Au Revoir Simone and Ramona Cordova. You can read the story of each video in French and English too. Thought I’d mention it, I think you might love it.

Comment by Seb

Megaupload’s down, any chance you canput it on a different site? Because this mix looks AMAZING. :D

Comment by Virginia




Leave a Reply

