INDIEchouette


IT’S THE SAME WORLD, HONEY, THAT HAS BROUGHT YOU DOWN AS THE ONE THAT’S GONNA PICK YOU UP
9 March, 2007, 708 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Let me just say that emo kids bug me as much as they bug the next person, and scene kids bug me more than they bug next person.

Emo kids. Let me say this to you. I know. Okay? You’re defensive and insecure, and you have the right to self-expression. I know. You listen to the likes of MCR and at least at one point listened to and liked Hawthorne Heights. They “got” it. You cry when you hear Chris Carraba’s voice, or at least want to (your brain gets a little teary, maybe). You’ve tried to listen to the likes of Sunny Day Real Estate and the Rights of Spring and the Promise Ring because other kids told you that they are real emo. There’s a 98% chance you didn’t like them because they’re so raw. If you shun MCR and Hawthorne Heights and prefer the likes of Bright Eyes and Elliott Smith, I can promise you that you’ve got quite a future (and that it’s okay to secretly listen to Dashboard sometimes and like one song each of MCR and HH). There’s a good chance that you don’t cut yourself, because emo kids aren’t typically cutters, despite the stereotypes. You like eyeliner and play Emo Game, because both make you seem cool. And Emo Game does actually teach you a good deal about politics and about musical history (I still play it). You’re probably dying for EG3, but it also depresses you that it’s unlikely that it’s going to come out, ever. Some of you wish you could dye your hair black, but your mom won’t let you. And you secretly want a scene haircut, but again, your mom won’t let you. Life sucks, you’re always unhappy, and you just want to grow up. But you want to be a skinny grown-up, and you like painfully skinny boys or damn skinny girls, but it doesn’t really matter how skinny you are. You’re pretty sure you’ll be emo your whole life. Maybe once in a while you do something crazy or incredibly stupid, and you’re quite naive, but you know your boundaries, mostly. Leave the really crazy stuff to the scene kids. You might drink occasionally. You like Pokemon a lot. You have a colourful/dark MySpace layout that you designed youself, and you’re in denial that it’s tacky. You might be using this as an evaluation of how emo you are, and I’d advise you to stop–you already get enough of that from all those Quizilla quizzes you take when you’re bored (don’t wanna OD). You claim to hate attention, but you secretly want people to look at you. And you want to be different more than anything else, and you think you are different, particularly if you go to my school. You see “preps,” and you hate them and think they’re narrow-minded and just stupid and that you must have nothing in common.

Look, I understand. That’s who I used to be. And I used to get so pissed off whenever someone said they hated emo kids. My personal stance on things has always been “live and let live.” If an emo kid hasn’t done anything to me, why, then, am I ragging on emo kids? Well, you’re not presenting your full self when you’re emo. You’re displaying one half of your emotions–all the anger, sadness, and maybe an evil sense of humour. You’re one half of a person, and humans were designed to be whole. Or to find themselves. And I’m not talking about people who are clinically depressed or, you know…who recently had a tragedy occur about their life. And I’m certainly not talking about the social phobes. I’m talking about the people who are afraid to be themselves, but who point that finger of accusation at other people.

As for people who nag emo kids without having been there–you have no right. I hate people who throw around the word “emo” whenever someone’s absorbed in something or unwilling to communicate. Emo kids, you’ll find yourselves soon.

As for those I mentioned who listen to Elliott Smith and Bright Eyes…you’re a little uncertain, not too inclined towards red and black–more towards a tinted red and a grey…maybe a little less Hot Topic and a little more…anywhere else. You’re on the path I chose. Congratulations, you’re a budding indie kid, and I’d take you under my wing any day. Back to the days of lacking a MySpace layout, accepting your body no matter how fat you are or how crooked your eyebrows are or how dead you look today, feeling compassion, realizing life is alright, finding music that makes you happy as opposed to sad (confession: the first time I listened to Bright Eyes, it was “Lifted,” and I bawled, but from there on out, it made me happy), and gaining a variety of friends from different social groups who love you. Your mind will open, and you’ll be ashamed of what you once were, and you’ll regret how wrong you were when you fought out against AlexKill (even if you did gain a high level of respect for him and find someone who respected you back a great deal), but then you’ll realize that if you can change the mind of and/or appeal to one misinformed soul…all that will have been worth it. I’m not sure why I wrote this, and I know a lot of people will lose respect for me for stooping down to that “bashing emo kids” blog that everyone (probably including Maddox) has, but I felt like I had to.


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

no respect lost.

Comment by divya

i need help. see my mother does not accept emo/scene and i feel like i am one. and she says hurtful things against emo/scene people. what should i do?

Comment by unknown

Unknown, I’ve totally been there. I was always too afraid to show my colours regarding the styles I wanted and my tastes in music, so I found myself compromising a lot for the sake of others. I was afraid that if I asked for an edgy scene haircut, my mom would disapprove. I was afraid that if I asked to buy clothes from stores like Hot Topic that people would judge me more than I would like.

As it turns out, my mom gave a lot more leeway than I thought she did. She likes my friends’ edgy haircuts and their senses of style (although they are more punk-rock/metal/indie Cindy). Of course, now I am too far gone as an average “indie hipster” to turn back, but I’m glad the sentiment had always been there, however hidden.

With your problem, though, I suggest that you make your intentions clear. My mom, for example, heard something on the radio recently about “emo” kids, and then she came home and asked me if I was “emo.” It’s such a difficult question, though. Sure, I have been attracted to the style before, but not so much anymore. And as for the meaning behind emo, I guess you could say that anyone is. So I just said no, because I wasn’t sure in which context she was using the word. It sounds so derogatory when other people say it.

Ss I take it, you want to express your colours through your clothing, music taste, and general style, but you’re afraid your mom will disapprove. I think it would be good if you took the reigns. Maybe ask for that haircut you want. Respectfully disagree with her the next time she says something hurtful about someone emo or scene. You just need to gently show her your point of view on the matter. I think she’ll respect it when she knows how you feel.

One concern I see a lot with grown-ups versus emo/scene/blahblahblah kids is that they think these people will amount to nothing. The people under these stereotypes are heavily influenced by music. So naturally, it’s a rock-and-roll lifestyle, and you know what they say about rock-and-roll. Your mom’s probably just afraid that this will turn into an obsession with a life based solely on pleasure, which is not always the best route. No money, no respect, et cetera. I think you just need to show her that you’re still her hard-working little pumpkin, and that you have set high standards for yourself and that you have a solid life aspiration somewhere down the road, but that this is your way of self-expression.

Even if you’re interested in going into the music industry, I’d still recommend that you shoot for high grades and aim for college. I take it you’re in middle or high school or somewhere around my age. I know this seems unfair since people who look all goody-two-shoes can even slack off and get shitty grades, but it will help to convince your mom that this is okay. It kind of gives her a good impression of emo/scene kids that way. You just need to remember that you’re always representing the emo/scene community, and that means showing others that you are secure in your choices, and that you are not any less a person than they are just because you choose to express yourself through your style and your music and literature taste and your political views.

Comment by indiechouette




Leave a Reply

