INDIEchouette


QUAINT
21 December, 2006, 827 am
Filed under: Music

I’ve watched so many quirky movies lately, and read so many quirky books this year that I feel like I’m a part of one, and it’s unraveling before my eyes. The plot? Some sixteen year-old high school junior loser finds herself through music and writing. Or something. Uh. It’s at the happy part right now, where you kind of want to punch her in the face, because she’s so not disappointed. Winter, you know? Watch, someone will die or something. I’ll have separation anxiety soon, I promise.

Little Miss Sunshine

First movie, Little Miss Sunshine. If you’re a veteran of my blog, you know I’ve wanted to see that movie forever, since I first heard about it, and Sufjan Stevens. Not gonna lie, Paul Dano’s character, Dwayne, was way relatable and very sarcastic, but I could relate to every last character of that movie, and I grew to love them all. Olive, played by Abigail Breslin (yeah, Spencer’s sister, but she’s AMAZING), was perhaps the most significant because her dad was always trying to subtly hint at the fact that she’s pleasantly plump (she’s adorable, and my favourite child actress ever), but her mom and Dwayne and her grandfather and her uncle shielded her from that by making her feel good about herself. And she deserved that love (and her dad was a DICK). By the end, I felt like she should’ve been my best friend. Yes, she’s like…probably still in the single digits, agewise, but she’s so cute!

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Next movie up is Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. I’m telling you, this is one of the most confusing, deja vu-esque movies you’ve ever seen, but it’s romantic, hilarious, and overall amazing. Clementine is insane and messy and disorganized and way out there, one of the craziest people ever, but she has her ideals set down right next to mine. Romance in nature. Risk. Uh, love? Kate Winslet, everyone, one of the best performances of our time. That was, by the way, my favourite Jim Carrey role, my favourite Kirsten Dunst role, my favourite Mark Ruffalo role, my favourite Elijah Wood role. It’s a way trippy movie, but it gives you something to think about, and something to grasp, in the end. It makes you cherish the people you love, and just how amazing it is that you wouldn’t have them erased from your life, because you love them so much. But it’s not a tearjerker, exactly.

Garden State

Last (I think?), but not least, Garden State. As you can see over on the left (for now), I love the soundtrack. It’s amazing, influential, inspirational, just the best stuff. Lately, I’ve been watching more Zach Braff (on Scrubs) than I ever have before, and he reminds me very much of a friend who used to be close. He’s an amazing actor with great musical taste. Well, Garden State is indescribable, really. It’s one of those movies you have to be in the mood to watch, but…I don’t know. While you’re watching it, you have no idea what it’s doing to you. It leaves a gentle, lasting impression. And the ending. God, the ending. One of the most amazing, sweet endings I’ve ever seen. It’s full of longing and love. Longing that you were in Sam’s shoes, that you could feel that pain of having Andrew leave in confusion…just to find him back in your arms at the end, no less confused, but sure of one thing, that he wants to figure things out with you. Love, for obvious reasons.

Anywho, those are the three amazing movies I’ve watched over the past few days, and I recommend them to anyone who stumbles upon my humble abode-blog thing. Even though if you’re a true movie buff, you’ll have already watched them. Hmm. Maybe I’ll do something on Christmas tomorrow. Way deja vu right there.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

:( i’m not allowed to watch anything R rated except tame-ish stuff like the matrix.

so anyway i got a cellphone. and the first person i called with it was you (last night) because how i promised you if i ever got one i’d call you first. but alexa said you weren’t there so i couldn’t actually talk to you. it’s a silver razr and can take pics and idk if i’m supposed to be able to text message but i’m pretty sure i can. my mom has one, my dad has one, i have one, and my little brother (what?!) has one. apparently they come in packs of 2 so if i wanted one, my brother HAD to have one too. but they never would have considered getting me one when i was 12 years old!!!!!!!!! just irks me a little. except the only thing he’s gonna do with it is take really ugly pictures and play games and stuff like that.

yeah that’s pretty much it.

Comment by divya




Leave a Reply

