INDIEchouette


IS THIS LOVE?
20 August, 2006, 1144 pm
Filed under: Music

I officially love Marc Spitz.  End of story.  And I’m not talking about the Olympic swimmer, Mark Spitz.  I’m talking about the amazing author of How Soon Is Never? and Too Much Too Late.  Also co-author of We Got The Neutron Bomb: The Untold Story of L.A. Punk (with Brendan Mullen).  I haven’t read that one yet.  He also writes for Spin magazine.  Just…he reads my mind.  Years in advance.  He knows what I want to read before I’ve even figured it out myself.  Pages in advance.  Mere paragraphs.

“Wouldn’t it be nice if this book mentioned Jenny Lewis or indie rock?” I thought as I threw on my gray Death Cab for Cutie tee shirt.  Pages later, I found this exerpt, no lie…

“Rivers Cuomo of Weezer,” Tracey said out of nowhere.  “Was one of his legs too short or was the other too long?”

“Huh?”  Harry was clearly puzzled.

“Too long,” I answered.  “He had to have it shortened.”

“Ah . . . you’re an optimist.”  Hillary nodded approvingly.

“Why can’t the Postal Service and Death Cab for Cutie tour on opposite coasts at the same time?”

“Can I get another stuffed artichoke?” Ben asked, oblivious to their oddly spontaneous trivia game.

“What television show did Rilo Kiley’s Jenny Lewis have a role on when she was a child star?”

“Hillary, are you giving us, like, a test?”

“No.  I’m just getting to know you.”

“What is the secret ingredient in this salad dressing?” Tracey asked, as if to make light of their poorly received pop pop quiz.

“It’s anise,” Ben growled.

“Fair enough.”  Tracey nodded.  “A gourmand.”

Out manager stroked the edge of the bat grip.

Marc Spitz has it.  Not only does he have it, but he has it.  I want to write like him, with the passion he has and the cleverness and the somewhat unintentional sarcasm.  He writes like he’s talking.  He writes like I talk.  He knows things.  And I’m not sure if he’s insulted or embarrassed that 16-year-olds are such huge fans of his books that were probably intended from reformed New Wavers…I actually don’t want to know.  It would hurt my feelings too much.  Because I actually put Marc Spitz up there with Jenny Lewis and Conor Oberst.  The only difference is that I could become Marc Spitz…or at least something like him.  I know I’ll never be a singer, and my musical skills (come on–oboe) won’t get me anywhere in life, but I can write.  I’m writing now.  And I think that Marc Spitz is probably my first real idol.  I also think it’s especially cool how he does not demean the blogger.  Motorrrju, Natalie Levine…she’s a 16-year-old chick with a powerful blog.  Motorrrju gives me something to stive toward today(although I don’t think I’ll ever want to write using the internet lingo she always does).  Marc Spitz gives me something to strive toward in twenty years.

So I now have about three or four new heroes.  Marc Spitz, Motorrrju aka Natalie Levine, Joe Green, and Harry Vance.  Three of whom are fictional characters.  God, I love reading.  Reading and Jane Asher and The Smiths.

Jane Asher : 1960s :: Jenny Lewis : 2000s.

See what I mean?  The resemblance is uncanny.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The book excerpt is as good here as it was in your El Jay, but I still don’t know which show Jenny Was in. I looked it up on IMDB, but there’s sooo many.

The resemblance is amazing. I love Jenny’s style and the 60’s. We should meet her someday! Or at least watch from a distance at a concert. It’s most likely going to be the second.

Comment by Edawg

so i typed in jane asher and jenny lewis into google and this is the first link i got. i was wondering if anyone else saw the resemblence, and i’m glad i’m not alone. i’ve looked around your blog and you seem to have it going on, pretty much. i’m not a lurker, don’t worry, but congrats on having a worthwhile blog. look for my on myspace?

abby

Comment by abby baby

Sorry, you have the wrong “Jane”. I’m American and have never heard of Jenny Lewis until now, but I can tell you absolutely that she and Asher resemble each other only insofar as hairstyle, skin tone, and choice of clothing shown in your photos. A similar hairstyle of long straight hair with bangs (and not even remotely sharing the same color); fair skin, and minidresses. Pretty superficial resemblances! No, who you really need to look at is JANE BIRKIN, another 1960s bird best noted for three things: the late-’60s Antonioni flick BLOW-UP, in which she cavorted virtually nude with another young actress, greatly amusing David Hemmings’ photographer character; the record “Je t’aime… moi non plus” in which she verbally cavorted with Serge Gainesbourg; and, much more recently, the Hermes “BIRKIN BAG”, in which she makes no appearance at all, but her name alone stimulates fashion addicts to lay over a couple of thousand or so dollars to be able to carry one such style around in their hot little hands.

The color photo of Lewis on this looks like nothing more nor less than Birkin in full baleful stare. The black-and-white one beneath of Lewis performing clinches the incredible resemblance, as far as I’m concerned.

Methinks you might want to consider transferring your ardor to another 1960s swingin’ chick, at least if a Jenny Lewis twin is what floats your boat!

Interesting blog you have. I just now found it.

Cheers,

Charla

Comment by charla

Jane Birkin…straight out of a Yelle song (of course, Birkin came first). I’ll look into that and get back to you tomorrow. I’m extremely interested, though.

Comment by indiechouette

I’ve put some more thought into it and really looked into who Jane Birkin was (somewhere at the back of my mind, I knew she was Charlotte Gainsbourg’s mama but it didn’t click until I looked into it further), and ever since I did, she’s been popping up in my life. For example, the other day, I was at a cafe downtown and looked over at a magazine a friend was reading and LO AND BEHOLD! there stood the Gainsbourg-Birkin family in black-and-white glory.

But yeah. I’ve loved Charlotte Gainsbourg for a while now, and I’m glad you mentioned Jane Birkin, because upon thinking about it…she is more of a sexpot than Jane Asher. And even superficially, but especially in her face, she resembles Jenny Lewis now.

Comment by indiechouette




Leave a Reply

